Monday, 23 March 2009

Basil sprints to victory...

Basil Moss ( pictured above) notched up his first career win, at the Simon Hooke Memorial circuit races at the Redbridge Cycling Center.Riding the Regional B 3/4 event, along with fellow Cambridge Cycling club team members Owen White, Mark Matthews, Rob Jackson and Eric Gowland, Moss took advantage of a split on the infamous Hoggenburg climb to bridge across to an established break of two.With his raw strength driving the break, and good work from team mates to control the bunch, the stage was set for a 3-up sprint on the climb to take the honors.

Labels: ,

Andy, blazes along on Thetford fire roads..

Cambridge CC member Andrew Cockburn competed in and won this Winters Whyte Enduro MTB series in Thetford Forest. Alongside him were club mates Digby Symons, Wendy De Graff, Luc De Graff and Gordon Hollingsworth - Gordon also found time between races to take these action shots of Andy. If you would like to join them for the Summer series registration is now open.

Monday, 16 March 2009

Impressive Glover storms home...

Photo and report by Jan Ertner. Another good weekend for Cambridge Cycling Clubs's TT guys. Five riders were in action at the West Suffolk Wheelers 21 mile time trial held on a sporting course around Risby. In the last couple of years participants of this event have been greeted by very windy conditions and this year proved to be no different! Duncan Murphy's strong early season form produced another great ride, 50m23s gave him 4th overall out of 53 finishers. However the CCC rider of the day was Richard Glover, pictured above, who won the Vet's on Standard competition with an impressive +12m18s. The overall winner of the event was Mark Arnold from API, who stormed around the tough course in 48m04s (26.2mph) on his fixed gear bike! West Suffolk Wheelers, BS31R (Risby, Suffolk). 01 Mark Arnold API 48.04; 04 Duncan Murphy CCC 50.23; 16 Jan Ertner CCC 55.34; 21 Richard Glover CCC 55.59; 43 Peter Baumber CCC 1.04.19; 48 Julia Ertner CCC 1.09.13 . Results for cyclists from Team Cambridge were - 18 Simon Bowden TeamCam 55.54, 27 Trevor Kimber TeamCam 59.03; 35 Tony Clarke TeamCam 1.00.43; 40 Charles Tallack TeamCam 1.03.56; 45 Sue Clarke TeamCam 1.05.58

Labels: , ,

Thursday, 12 March 2009

Temporary Website

Cambridge CC is developing a new database driven website. However progress has been relatively slow as the main developments are down to one person. The development site can be accessed from the home page (red button to the left) and offers of help to improve the site can be directed to Nick Jackson (ngjackson "at"

In order to keep members informed in the mean time, this temporary site has been developed. Currently it is under construction but I will be adding the missing pages and new facilities over the next few weeks.

The calendar is functioning and has been populated with many of the CCC activities. It is based on Google Calendars and you may do all sorts of advanced things like having the calendar send you reminder e-mails or texts. A compact version can be seen to the right and a more traditional view can be seen by clicking on "What's On" in the menu. A useful feature is the small down triangle at the top right of the calendar, clicking this allows you to select types of activities to display/hide.


Monday, 9 March 2009

Murphy, man for all seasons...

The CC Breckland 10-mile Time Trial event is one of only a handful of early-season events to be held in this part of the country. It's an ideal opportunity for the 'all weather' tester to get a feel for their early season form. Of the 53 starters, there were five riders from Cambridge CC, who all - well, nearly all - enjoyed the mild but blustery conditions. Duncan Murphy showed he is more than ready for the new season, coming 2nd overall with an impressive 23.32, only 46secs off the old course record. Winner Nino Piccoli (BMC UK Racing Team) smashed the course record by a minute to win in a time of 21.46. CC Breckland , B10/18 (Scoulton, Norfolk) winner Nino Piccoli (BMC UK Racing Team) 21.46. 2nd Duncan Murphy (Cambridge CC) 23.32. 22nd Simon Bowden (Team Cambridge) 25.56. 23rd Jan Ertner (Cambridge CC) 25.57. 30th Andy Blower (Cambridge CC) 26.25. 36th Peter Baumber (Cambridge CC) 29.22 Julia Ertner (Cambridge CC)DNF (Puncture) Thanks to Jan Ertner for Photo and results. Did you know? BMC is a Swiss manufacturer of fancy frames & bikes

Thursday, 5 March 2009

Bradshaw, waved home on a crest...

Cambridge Cycling Club road racer Douglas Bradshaw claimed an impressive victory in the Crest Spring Road Race. In this ,the first, Eastern Road Race League event of the season, Bradshaw won after launching a solo breakaway from a small group of leading riders ,who were the peleton, to ride the final 3 laps on his own, finishing 90 seconds ahead of the chasing bunch.

Labels: , , ,